Established in 1989 as the Reading League, the TVPL changed it’s name ready for the 2014/15 season to the Thames Valley Premier League.

With our Premier Division a Step-7 level, we are home for a number of Senior clubs in the area such as Woodley United, Highmoor IBIS and Wokingham & Emmbrook, along with strong TVPL-based clubs such as Reading YMCA, Marlow United, Newbury, Cookham Dean and Woodcote Stoke Row.

Many of these clubs have a rich tradition in the local cups with Marlow United reaching the final of the Berks & Bucks Intermediate cup and Cookham Dean holding the League cup, played at the Madjeski Stadium.

The league is also home to clubs that have multiple teams. As well as many of the above, clubs such as Berks County, Taplow United and Maidenhead Town all have 3 teams in our competition and many other sides attract Reserve sides due to being well-run and established with strong management teams.

The League also have a 3-tiered League Cup to allow all clubs the chance for trophy success and are closely linked with the Reading Challenge Cup, the Slough Town Challenge Cup and the Maidenhead Norfolkian Cup.

Our current champions are as follows;

  • Premier        Reading YMCA
  • Div One        Westwood United
  • Div Two        Burghfield FC
  • Div Three     Berks County Reserves
  • Div Four       South Reading